I hate the dentist

I think that statement is probably quite a common one. I have huge dentist issues and have ever since I was a child, mainly because of the experiences that I had.

As a child, at the dentist, it always seemed like I was in trouble. I had the constant lecture about not eating the wrong foods, cleaning my teeth. Each time I went, I had to look at the ‘bad teeth’ picture. Each time I went, I needed something doing – usually teeth pulling because my mouth was ‘overcrowded’. God knows how many ‘extra’ teeth I had because it seemed that each time I went, I left with fewer teeth. One of those occasions was when I needed fitting for a brace, and the mould stuff was left in my mouth a little too long and out popped one of my teeth with it. Add to that fillings without any anaesthetic and my nightmare is complete. I didn’t even completely neglect my teeth either! I cleaned twice a day, didn’t eat loads of sweets, had sugar free juice (if not water) and fizzy pop was a once a month treat; walking the previous months empty bottle down to the Baker’s Arms on a Sunday with my dad is one of my happier memories.

I do go to the dentist. It takes a while – usually 3 or 4 attempts to book an appointment, often have to resort to my husband to book it for me. I spend the days leading up to it worrying and then the day of the appointment panicking. I sit in the waiting room crying and have the work done through tears. Time before last I had a full blown panic attack and they had to stop for a break half way through.

I do believe that people can either be blessed with great teeth or weak, and I certainly have the latter. I have lost my wisdom teeth and each pregnancy came with some problems – lost tooth, cracked teeth, fillings. In fact, the pregnancy that I lost was preceeded by a visit to the dentist to have a tooth removed which then resulted in an infection. Part of me still believes that this could have been the cause. Maybe I will blog about my angel baby in more detail another day.

With my last baby, I had a craving for peaches. Half way through my pregnancy, biting into a peach, I forgot abut the stone but my front tooth didn’t. It chipped. I have spent the best part of the last 4 years having it filled. The filling will hold for about 3 months, will need replacing, will last a year, will need replacing, last 3 months, need replacing, last a year. I have now reached the end of the road with this treatment. I need a crown. “You can either get a crown or walk around with a gap,” said the dentist on my last visit (yes, he knows I am scared, no he doesn’t know the full background). I am currently walking round with a gap, plucking up the courage to have a crown, saving the money for the work to be done. Not sure I will ever be brave enough.

3 comments

  1. rltherapy · February 10, 2016

    Wow, that is so anxiety provoking. I admire your strength to continually wanting to book. The time in between booking and going to the appointment must be torturous. It sounds like you really want to go and at the same time anxiety is really holding you back. My hope for you is that you are able to get that crown and if you didn’t, I would not blame you because the struggle with anxiety is real.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kitty364 · February 10, 2016

      Thank you! I will keep you posted 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Day Seventeen | 364 or there abouts

Leave a Reply

