Day Sixteen

Today we went to Beamish Open Air Museum near Newcastle.

I love history and any working life type museum is a place that I am drawn to. I have memories of going to Blist Hill when I was younger, looking at old fashioned clothing, money etc and it brings back great feelings. I especially love the Victorian era right up to the 1940’s.

I had wanted to try out Beamish for many years before we actually went. My school used to do residentials to Northumbria and therefore they used to stop off at Beamish on the way back home. I never went on those residentials – not being in that year group, and then having children of my own. We eventually decided to go, after realising that it maybe wasn’t as far away as we thought. We’ve loved it ever since.

Today we made the journey with my sister, her husband and their two boys.

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Beamish | 364 or there abouts

Leave a Reply

