Fan Fiction 2: first or third person

I have begin writing in earnest, and I am really enjoying it. It is definitely something for my own amusement rather than something that I shall take with great seriousness. I have been thinking though – is first or third person better? Third person is the most natural of choices for story writing, in my opinion, however I feel that a lot of fan fiction is based in fantasy and as part of that, readers like to place themselves in the story. Perhaps the first person helps with this?

Anyhow – here are the opening two paragraphs, firstly in the third person and then the first. Which is best?

Third Person:

Folding the letting advert back up and sliding it into her coat pocket, Sally sat down into the back of the black cab.  She could have made the journey by tube; however, despite only having a small suitcase, the idea of having to traipse down to Euston Square station seemed like too much effort; as did the bus which, according to TripAdvisor, seemed to be the most efficient method. There would be plenty of time to get acquainted with the bus network but today wasn’t a good day on which to start.

Sally peered through the window, wiping a small peephole into the condensation with the palm of her left hand. The weather outside was gloomy to say the least; heavy drizzle and a coldness that she had thought she was escaping.

First Person:

Folding the letting advert back up and sliding it into my coat pocket, I sat down into the back of the black cab.  I could have made the journey by tube; however, despite only having a small suitcase, the idea of having to traipse down to Euston Square station seemed like too much effort; as did the bus which, according to TripAdvisor, seemed to be the most efficient method. There would be plenty of time to get acquainted with the bus network but today wasn’t a good day on which to start.

I peered through the window, wiping a small peephole into the condensation with the palm of my left hand. The weather outside was gloomy to say the least; heavy drizzle and a coldness that I had thought I was escaping.

Perhaps there isn’t enough there to form an opinion.

2 comments

  1. K@thy · December 26

    I tend to never know which to use… both sound good; I guess it depends when you write which POV is whispering to you.

    Like

    • Kitty364 · December 26

      I’ve gone with 3rd person in the end. I decided I want to be able to see the story through everyone’s eyes,

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

