The curse of 2016

Much has been written about the Humber of deaths in ‘celeb land’ this year. George Michael’s passing on Christmas Day was followed by Liz Smith on Boxing Day (Royale Family, Vicar of Dibley). Today’s death has been Carrie Fisher, better known as Princess Leia.

Thankfully, touch wood. We have not been too badly affected personally by the curse of 2016. Neil lost his ‘aunt’ – a neighbour from his childhood that he thinks of with great fondness – but I know others have not been so blessed. I am fortunate for all that I have, my husband and my children. My parents and my sisters and nephews.

I hope that the year passes without further incident and that 2017 is not so cruel to others and remains generous to us.

Leave a Reply

